Reviews

8.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.6
Comfort
7.9
Property location
8.7
Facilities
7.8
Staff
8.0
Value
8.0

Reviews

    Mauro
    si

    Review score

    8.3
    19 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    it

    Review score

    7.5
    14 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Justin
    mt

    Review score

    10
    31 August 2018
    Great view
    Pol
    es

    Review score

    6.7
    11 August 2018
    Poor attention from the owners
    Espectacular views from the room, nice village on the top of the mountain
    Paul
    gb

    Review score

    10
    31 July 2018
    Nothing
    The family owners including Grandmother were simply lovely, and really could not have done more. The location of the Casa is amazing, and a stunning retreat from the commercial, bustling Taormina which is less than 20 minutes away by the local Interbus. Cannot recommend enough!! Great pizzas too
    Marika
    no

    Review score

    9.6
    26 July 2018

    Fanstastic view

    Very nice and hospitable owners! The b&b is very nicely located on top of Castelmola town with fantastic view towards the Etna and the sea!! We enjoyed our stay very much! Grazie!
    Kynan
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    23 July 2018

    Pleasant, tranquil and very interesting for those who want to experience another culture .

    For inexperienced travellers (such as ourselves), be warned that the Hotel can be tricky to find. When you arrive at Castelmola in the main square, continue up through the narrow streets and avoid the dog that sleeps in the road. Eventually there will be a fork in the road, with the Hotel immediately in the centre of that fork. For parking, keep right at this point and follow the road until you reach a dusty lot that is being constructed - you have arrived. Another thing for the uninitiated is that the owners speak very little English, which can seem very daunting at first. But try speaking little Italian and making sensible hand gestures, and they will be always hospitable and welcoming. The Air Conditioning in the rooms seemed quite weak and took a couple of hours to properly start cooling in the evenings after dinner (around 10pm, started cooling at 12-1pm, mid-late July) which was a small but frustrating problem. Our first room was nice, but didn't provide any sort of view which we had expressly booked. We were then also moved from that room two nights in, due to a family booking they had forgotten. This is not acceptable in bigger hotels, but for such a small family business we felt it unfair to complain - they were very apologetic and moved all of our things whilst we were out. Nothing was missing or stolen. You can trust them! We were moved to a different room with a far better view, of Etna and the road leading to the hotel. Sometimes other guests were noisy, and the lack of soundproofing didn't help, however it never really affected us much. There is no need to stay in bed beyond 0800 in such a beautiful and interesting town.
    The owners were all very pleasant and welcoming. They were understanding when we arrived and checked in late due to flight delays. Language was an issue between us, however patience was shown and good laughs were had as we both learned one another's language a little better. - Cleaning service was great, the rooms kept to a good standard (Deluxe Queen) and some rooms had great views. - Views are great from some rooms - Owners are very hospitable and kind - The lady owner cooks her own pastries, biscuits/cookies and jams etc for her guests to have for breakfast. They are excellent and really added to the experience of going abroad. - Location is excellent for people who want to be out of the main Tourist traps but close enough for day trips. Eat in Castelmola, not Taormina. It is so much cheaper yet utterly brilliant for its food and wine, and walking to the Hotel is easy. Views are also immeasurably better from the heights of Castelmola. The rooms are odd shapes with low wooden ceilings that make it very cosy and charming, if not a little hard to navigate during midnight toilet use! Overall it is a marvellous place to stay away from the bustle of Taormina when you have had enough.
    mt

    Review score

    5.4
    21 July 2018

    one the worst booking i had ever made with booking.com

    breakfast very poor , the restaurant was not very hygienic.
    Mads
    dk

    Review score

    10
    15 July 2018

    We will come back !

    The owners and staff tried to do everything for you, but the breakfast standard was not impressive and a little up and down depending on who was in charge.
    Very charming B&B owned by a helpful family who did everything to please us. From the room we had the most magnificent view over the Taormina Bay and to Etna. The low wooden roof creates a cosy atmosphere, and the room facilities are perfect. Castelmoda is far from being as touristic as Taormina and much more charming, in particular in the evenings.
    Lidia Metel
    pl

    Review score

    10
    14 July 2018

    Very nice place with amazing view

    Very nice place with amazing view. Very clean rooms and the view from the balcony in the morning on Etna amazing
    Andrea Ettore Scianna
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    29 June 2018
    Nice location but away from Taormina
    Nice view, good helpful staff
    Laurie
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 June 2018
    Nothing
    Very friendly and obliging
    Jacek
    pl

    Review score

    10
    17 June 2018

    Crazy car ride to the stunning view

    Everything was great!
    Absolutely stunning balcony view. Nice and friendly owners. Having "salty/sweet" breakfast choice.
    Janusz
    pl

    Review score

    4.2
    3 June 2018

    Beautifull location, awful staff, terrible food

    Staf
    cz

    Review score

    8.3
    9 May 2018
    - Arriving by car is difficult. There is a great private parking nearby the accommodation (and the host was very helpful with giving instructions), but driving in Castelmola is not easy (narrow streets, many pedestrians, limited traffic zone).
    - Helpful staff - Parking - Amazing view of the countryside including Etna - Good breakfast - A few minutes from the church and the castle; path to Taormina starts just in front of the accommodation
    William
    mt

    Review score

    9.6
    9 April 2018

    If I go again to Castelmola, I will book same B and B and same room

    Narrow streets to reach the location.
    View, owners are always there ready to help.
    dk

    Review score

    7.1
    3 April 2018
    Owner/staff didn't speak or understand English which made communication very difficult. Also the couple/staff wasn't very friendly or accomodating. Owner demanded payment in the middle of breakfast on the day of departure.
    Fantastic location with GREAT view! Loved the balcony where we could have our breakfast.
    Vicki Morrow
    au

    Review score

    10
    25 March 2018
    Only negative, was all the steep steps to the room.
    We had one clear day, amazing views from our room, weather was against us, a shame, beautiful little village, but a little to early in year to visit, as not much open, @ weather was horrendous, so everything closed early, difficult to get a warm feed o last night here.
    FrankieRoams
    qa

    Review score

    9.6
    21 June 2018
    No trash bins, rough bed
    Views, nice host, good breakfast
    Srdjan Katunaric
    hr

    Review score

    10
    20 May 2018
    Parking is not exactly near the B&B. It is a local covered parking but quite safe.
    Amazing view, hosts friendly. Location good for Castelmola but not for Taormina. Restaurant at location. Beautiful view on Etna. Rooms are clean and nicely arranged.
Loading reviews